The Thistle - An E-Newsletter of Scotch College, Perth, Western Australia

From the Head of Senior School

The last two weeks have been a fortnight of culminating activity as we head towards the end of the academic year. Arts Week, or Arts Fortnight, really had impressive highlights with the Year 8 to 10 Drama Production 'Teechers' on stage in the Dickinson Centre. The video doing the rounds of the Certificate II Music boys on stage at the Badlands Bar is quite amazing, whilst the Inspirations Art Exhibition is still on show in The Gallery beneath the Junior and Middle School Library and really worth swinging by to see the breadth of medium and talent in the Year 1 to 10 Art programmes. Last Thursday was the Media Awards Nights with the presentation of our Year 12 Media students' five-minute media projects. Congratulations to Joshua Ziepe (Year 12 Stuart) and Coen Miller (Year 12 Anderson) on their film 'Revelations' being judged Best Artistic Production.

69691223_2462704124008778_1847928529715462144_o.jpg 69784909_2464273687185155_4437008929699921920_o.jpg

Also culminating last week was a short but intensive Athletics season. Scotch puts a very strong team on the track each year and there are very few athletes who have not had the benefit of specialist after school coaching by talented Old Scotch Collegians and every athlete has a couple of dozen 'Doney Tree Runs' under their belt before the big day. The Inter-School Carnival is a little different to the normal PSA Sport programme where the opportunity exists to see other schools over the course of a season. Athletics is a one off straight into it approach and therefore hard to gauge where the opposition is at. On the back of having won the Inter-School Carnival for five of the last seven seasons there was some optimism we would do well once again. The picture below tells the story, Scotch won again, by a decisive margin. Congratulations to Lucas Triglavcanin (Year 12 St Andrews) and Lincoln Allan (Year 12 Ross) the Athletics Co-Captains on organising and motivating their squad to an impressive win. A special mention to Nathan Thomas (Year 12 Anderson) as the leader of the chants who is probably still hoarse after leading the cheer squad through a day of impressive singing and war cries.


Last week was also the last Senior School Assembly for the term as Year 11 and 12 examinations now take over the Dickinson Centre. As we complete one academic year we are also preparing for the next and last week's Assembly saw the announcement of the 2019/2020 School and House student leadership positions. This is not just the anointment of boys into these roles, these are boys who have volunteered to take on the extra responsibilities and are prepared to give the additional time to be role models not just for behaviour but for engagement and relationship building and promoting our values to the rest of the College. After nominations, candidate speeches are followed by a student vote, short listed students are interviewed and then the announcement. I would like to congratulate and thank, in advance, the boys below who have been selected into the following roles and wish them the very best for the 2019/2020 academic year.

Captain of School - Charlie Bevan (Alexander)

Vice-Captain of School (Operations) - Giancarlo (Gianni) Kain (Brisbane)

Vice-Captain of School (Service) - Ronald Fellows–Smith (St Andrews)

Head of Student Council - Max Jones (Anderson)

Captain of Residential Life - Patrick Eastough (Ferguson)

House Leadership Positions for 2019/2020 



Vice-Captain (Operations)

Vice-Captain (Service)

Student Council


Ryan Benney

Nicholas Verryn

Max Steens

William (Will) Reeves


Riley Waters

Flynn Le Cornu

Rhys Williams

Max Shervington


Angus Johnston

Samuel (Sam) Hector

William Steinberg

Alex Chew


Matthew (Matt) Steinepreis

Ethan Riseley

Charlie Radici

Lee Youngman


Angus Walsh

Jack Beazley

Hugh Plowman

Darby Cuming


Joshua (Josh) Keatch

George Graham

Eden Messina

James Rex


Toby Humphris

Cooper van Rooyen

Bailey Wright

Lachlan Hyndes

St Andrews

Fletcher Gardner

Bailey Cumming

William van Uffelen

Fraser Webb


Arun Tibballs

Aden Stocks

Benjamin (Ben) Clarke

Arad Rad


Damian Haynes

Jaxon Hayden

Lachlan Simpson

Matthew Warne